Actions & Events

Attend Local Actions and Events sponsored both by our branch and our allies. Support the WILPF goals of peace, justice and feminist democracy throughout the region.

February 9, 2023
  • ONE WILPF National Call: 7pm ET, 6pm CT, 5pm MT, 4pm PT On The Second Thursday Of The Month
    February 9, 2023  6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

    At the time of the event, click the link below to join:
    http://s.mconf.us?t=zf8Me&webphone=true
    Or you can join manually by calling +1 (310) 409-2027, dialing your PIN
    604164 #
    and then opening the Visual Interface: http://s.mconf.us?t=zf8Me

     

February 13, 2023
  • Peace & Justice Conversations: Building Peace in our Schools with Restorative Practices
    February 13, 2023  6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
    Online via Zoom

    Violence in our schools, chronic absenteeism, high suspensions rates, teacher-burn out, and destructive behavior are problems in many places across the country today as we face a post-pandemic social environment that is increasingly hostile towards public education and more concerned with student “learning loss” than the social and emotional wellbeing of our youth. What is to be done?

    Dr. Whitney Howarth will talk about her work with educational administrators, behavioral interventionists, counselors and teachers working to implement restorative practices in schools in order to build positive cultures of Belonging where students feel empowered and connected. What can we learn about peace building on the local level and interpersonally that has macro-applications from the restorative framework? Come join the conversation about how we can build relationships within high support/high expectation systems that honor equity and inclusion at all levels of influence in our schools. By building less punitive climates of care and connection, we are creating spaces where learners and teachers work together to feel less overwhelmed and more emboldened as change agents. We are healing harm and enabling healthier, happier, more productive, and sustainable learning communities. You can, too!

    About NHPA’s bi-weekly Zoom Peace & Justice Conversation Series: 2020’s upheavals brought us to a new moment of reckoning and possibility. How do we want to live in the world? What do we value? How can we make the changes we’ve been yearning for? NH Peace Action has been engaged in working for change for decades. We’d like to bring you into these conversations about issues and options for the future. There is no charge to attend, but your contributions in any amount are greatly appreciated.

    https://www.facebook.com/events/556960753144292/

     

February 25, 2023
  • Monthly board meeting
    February 25, 2023  1:00 pm - 3:00 pm